Thumbnails!
February 6, 2007, 5:50 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

thumbs01.jpg

The time that is spent doing the pre-production of an animation is unbelievable. It can take months, even years. Time is well spent and carefully managed for everything. Script, Storyboard, character and scenery designs, animatics, blah blah blah…

I’ve found that the best way to do my Comic Book is the same way that I do animations. Step by step, one thing at a time. I decided to spent a lot of time on the pre-production. The funniest and most important part up to now was the thumbnails. Fabio moon and Gabriel Bá say that I put too much detail into the thumbnails. But I like it that way, because when I really start to draw, everything is already ready, it’s just drawing it bigger. I’m sure that this isn’t the best way to do comics when you have a tight deadline, but since I don’t have anyone breathing down my neck ( besides the Bro Brothers ), I decided to do it in my own way and it will be exactly how I want it.

Today I finished the thumbnails, the “storyboard”. Close to 40 pages. Now I’m entering the next phase: “Animatic!”

————–
O tempo que se gasta fazendo a pré-produção de um desenho animado é sem noção. São meses, até anos. O tempo é bem gasto e planejado pra tudo. Roteiro, Storyboard, concept dos personagens, dos cenarios, animatic, blá, blá, blá…

A melhor maneira que eu encontrei pra fazer o meu álbum foi do mesmo jeito que eu faço animação. Passo a passo, cada coisa de cada vez. Decidi gastar um bom tempo na pré. A parte mais divertida e importante até agora foram os thumbnails. Os gêmeos dizem que eu defino demais os thumbnails, que eu detalho demais. Mas eu prefiro assim, pois na hora de eu desenhar valendo já está tudo definido, é só desenhar grande. Tenho certeza que essa não é a forma ideal de se fazer Quadrinhos quando se tem um prazo de mercado, sempre apertado, mas como não tenho ninguém no meu pé ( além dos brou brothers ), decidi fazer de um jeito que eu sei que vai ficar exatamente como eu quero.

Hoje eu acabei os thumbnails, o “storyboard”. Quase 40 páginas. Passei para a próxima fase: ” Animatic”!

Abraço

R. Grampá


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

A parte mais difícil, a criação, já foi. O resto é braçal. Importante agora é se divertir durante a produção, para não cansar da repetição diária.

Comment by Fábio Moon

Tu é doente.

Comment by gus




Leave a Reply

