Review for MESMO DELIVERY by The Comics Reporter
December 19, 2008, 11:37 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

“It’s not that I particularly ever wanted to see a comic that somehow managed to make me not feel ridiculous to suggest its art blends elements of work from Geof Darrow, Don Simpson, Tanino Libratore and Dave Cooper, but now that it’s happened I’m quite glad for the experience. Rafael Grampa’s short story about an encounter on the road between two couriers and a group of oddball, passing-through toughs and hangers-on plunges full-bore into the intoxicating mix of body fluids and bone-shattering gore that many of the first wave of macho, ready-to-be-a-movie independent comics from this decade merely danced around. It offers the same discombobulating feeling that one must have felt moving from John Ford and John Wayne to Sergio Leone and Clint Eastwood, from Lee Marvin to Sonny Chiba. Grampa draws the waves of horrific violence not like he’d be happy to perpetrate it, the way antiseptic violence in American superhero comics sometimes feels, but as if he delights in the wicked beauty of its existence, if only at a remove.

One hopes that Grampa’s potency as an action artist and general displayed effectiveness as a fight choreographer (a highly undervalued skill) doesn’t keep readers from noticing several of the work’s subtleties. Grampa is as good with keeping visual interest during a conversation in a truck cab as he is with the overt action, rolling the reader’s eyes through that physical space in assured fashion. I like a throwaway panel where the owner of the local bar/rest stop has set up his chair to watch a fight as much as I enjoy any of the splashier moments. Letterer Rafa Coutinho switches between standard lettering effects and full-on graphic flourishes and archaic type in an appropriately flashy way that made me think it was the artist performing that task. I also very much enjoyed a page with what looks like the devil himself looking up with encouragement from below the ground over which one of our protagonists drags a body. That’s the kind of thing that tends to turn off a lot of more somber fans of violent drama. Here it not only brings a more gonzo element into the story, but brings into question the tableau’s meaning. Is that the eventual goal, the eventual client? Is that the hidden portrait of the character himself? Is that what one of the actors may be thinking? It’s the page of a confident artist.

It’s difficult not to overpraise a book like Mesmo Delivery because it works its territory with dogged fury and stands stories above a lot of clumsier, less imaginative comics of the same general type. It is a slight story to the point where you’d like a word that meant a more potent version of “slight.” It may be more of a calling card than a summary statement, if you catch my meaning; it simultaneously exists as a story exercise and a story. There are character elements (the lead’s Elvis fixation), design elements (the lunatic-level body shape of one of the leads) and plot points (the never-seen MacGuffin of what’s in the cargo bay) that never transcend their respective cliches. Still, as a shot across the bow of the lazier and less gifted,Mesmo Delivery may be just as frightening as its paroxysms of violence, as portentous as it is potent.”  

Tom Spurgeon, THE COMICS REPORTER, December 17, 2008.

The link is here.

So, the guy was right. I DID the lettering! But, yes, Rafa Coutinho was the letterer too. He made a GREAT work with the text and the balloons! And he was right again when he said ” it simultaneously exists as a story exercise and a story “. Totally! I learned to make comics with this exercise. It is my first son, the first time I wrote an script to show for other people and I’m very, very happy whit all the feedback I’m receiving. I’ can’t create short stories. This is very difficult for me. I always thought in longer stories but I had to create something short to see if I was right about myself, about my dream to become a comic creator. I didn’t know if I knew to make comics before Mesmo Delivery. Mesmo Delivery was a kind of preparation for FURRY WATER, my next project – finally a SAGA – but I tried to do it with the same energy that I could put on a major project!

Thank you everybody that liked Mesmo Delivery. It was an unbelievable year for me and because of you now I’m right that I born to tell stories. Comics is the COOLEST thing in the world!!!

All the best,

R. Grampá

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thank YOU R!

Comment by Chris Pitzer

: )

Comment by Rafael Grampá

massa, furrywater ta prometendo ein!!
abrass

Comment by lucas leibholz

Hi dude,it’s greatta seeing the reception of yar book. Greatta work, a mindblowing stuffa full’o’yar artistic energy. Trained eyes, as mine as a born comic book fan, can’t see only a comic story. More than this, is possible to see desire in every box, passion in any trace, love in each page.

Sucess.

I also loved Hellblazer #250, as your sincerity when saying that don’t like the charas. In spite of this, you showed respect for the fans with the high-quality of tha work ya’ve done.

Congratulations.

Today comic industry needs more heart and sincerity than outstanding talents. You’re both.
Long carrer for ya.

As advice I say, don’t get out of this way. You will walk longer trough it. And a wish, to finish:
Post the P&B pages of Hellblazer.

Ah, e eu sou brasileiro, longe de casa, infelizmente. Mas ler o post em inglês me deu vontade de escrever em inglês. As gírias que se falam são boas de se escrever.

Huggaz!

Comment by FifthAce

Tem que sair no Brasil com o título de FurryWater e nos Steitis como Aquapeluda! hahahahaha

Comment by Antonio Tadeu

Cara, Mesmo Delivery é foda, foda mesmo.
siga em frente e continue o bom trabalho!
abraço!

Comment by ficcaobarata

yellow mellow my dear friend….. all the love and happiness goes your way for this Bday of yours… really hope we catch a hug some time soon.
peace
loic

Comment by loic




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 179 other followers

